Yoga Routine, Jan 2010

The following YouTube video is a core strength routine I am practicing this month.  I do five repetitions each morning at the beginning of my practice. Some points to keep in mind.

  • Take a few breaths in Dandasana to center and align your movements with your breath.
  • Start with a clear experience of pelvic floor and core abdominal muscles engaged.  Your legs are grounded at the top of the thigh bone (thigh loop).
  • As you roll down stay connected to the breadth of your back body (kidney loop) and a strong root through your tail bone (pelvic loop) into your legs (thigh loop).
  • Engage your shoulder blades when the arms are overhead (shoulder loop) and hold stability in your core (pelvic & kidney loop) as the legs rise to vertical.
  • Counter-balance your weight through the opposite ribs and shoulder as you take your legs to the side and keep a diagonal line of legs to hand.
  • Back to core stability as you lower your legs so that you are not straining your lower back.
  • Come up with a clear perception of the energy rising through your pelvic floor and up the central channel.
  • Hinge at the hip as you fold into the forward bend, keep integrity along your spine to the crown of the head.

This routine should be modified if you are a beginner or if there is any strain in your actions.  Bend your knees in all movements and use momentum (a strong downward thrust of the legs) to lift back to sitting or roll to the side and then come up.

I follow this beginning vinyasa with variations on the following:

  • Sun Salute with twist and standing poses
  • Inversion
  • Deeper opening of the front body (variations on stump pose)
  • Urdhva Danurasana
  • Supta Baddha Konasana
  • Gomukhasana legs
  • Knees to chest
  • Savasana

Here’s the video:

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Christine on January 17, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Nice! And love to have the video accompaniment.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christine on January 17, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    Since I am a visual learner – being able to match the words in the blog to the video make more sense to me…which is why I am at the front of the class on Tuesdays where I can watch and hear; then move to the back the rest of the week.

    Who knows – maybe I will even do this exercise when I get back from the pool in the mornings – something to work towards. Heaven knows I need to work on my core…and my psoas as my biggest challenge with floor work is not pulling on my lower back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

